Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), minority leader for the US House of Representatives, said on Monday that he had recommended five GOP lawmakers to join the House-approved commission on the January 6 riot at the US Capitol building. McCarthy’s selection included Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH), who openly opposed legislation on the bipartisan group’s formation.