The cornerstone of the White House was laid almost 230 years ago, on 13 October 1792. At various times in history, the White House has been known as the “President’s Palace”, the “President’s House”, and the “Executive Mansion”. President Theodore Roosevelt officially gave the White House the name by which everyone knows it in 1901.